Team Profiles: BTC Racing

BTC Racing joined the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) in 2017 using the BTC Norlin name, although the team raced in the BTCC under the BTC Racing banner from to 2006 to 2008, and 2014. For 2019, the team reverted to the BTC Racing name, and currently enters two Honda Civic Type Rs in the championship, driven by Chris Smiley and Josh Cook. The team principal is Bert Taylor.


For 2018, BTC Norlin switched to using Honda Civic Type Rs. These were acquired second hand from Halfords Yuasa Racing, as a result of the new generation car being introduced. Chris Smiley was joined at BTC Norlin by James Nash. Due to personal issues, James Nash left the team, and was replaced by Dan Lloyd from Oulton Park onwards.


In 2017, the team entered two Cheverlot Cruzes, driven by Chris Smiley and Dave Newsham. In the second half of the season, both drivers scored consistent points finishes, with Dave Newsham achieving a podium finish at Silverstone. Dave Newsham left the team and the championship at the end of the season.